The History of Parasol – the Original Sun Protection

I’ve no idea what the weather is like today as I’m writing this post a week in advance, knowing that I’ve planned some time off. However I’m hoping it’s a sunny Monday wherever you are. If so, particularly if like me you’re vulnerable to sunburn, consider grabbing a parasol and enjoying one of the early forms of sun protection.

The word parasol joined the English language in the early 1600s so despite my BBC drama fueled notions that they arose in the Georgian period (1714-1830), they were presumably in use during the 1600s. Could Queen Elizabeth I (1533-1603) have used one? Or perhaps her successor’s wife, Queen Anne?

My Roman parasol in my garden

The Tudors were late to the party as the ancient Egyptians were fond of proto-parasols such as tree leaves and palm fronds over 4,000 centuries ago. I haven’t fully researched their history but apparently they were originally used by persons of high rank in the East and later by fashionable women in Europe where, until Coco Chanel, the idea of having skin browned by outdoor work showed you were lower class. How things change with time, eh?

When parasol arrived in English, as a direct borrowing from French, it described a light portable screen or canopy carried to shield you from the sun, which is a pretty broad definition. The French had borrowed the word from the Italians (parasole in their case) who had formed it very literally from Latin – para (defense against) and sole (sun, solem in Latin).

Para comes from the Latin verb parare which means to ward off or to make ready and you will find it in parachute and parapet as well.

Sol and solem arose from the root word sawel (sun) which also gives English words like solar, south, sun, and solstice.

Given the Italian and Latin influence on the word it seems right that I bought my own parasol in Rome years ago. Wherever you are today if you’re out in the sun remember your sun-screen and your parasol.

Until next time, happy reading, writing, and wordfooling,


Grace (@Wordfoolery)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.